So here we are.  It’s New Years Day 2011.  This project officially got underway at 12:01 am this morning.  As you can see, I’ve got my one penny coin.  Its a 1987 edition, and in case you were wondering, yes that’s before they stopped making them out of bronze and started using copper plated steel.  The queens head on this particular coin was designed by Raphael Maklouf, and the rear design is by a chap called Christopher Ironside.  It truly is a marvelous coin.  The work horse of the royal mint.  I gave my one penny a bit of a polish.  I thought this might improve its desirability, and help me get things moving.

The first trade is going to be the most difficult.  I’ve already spent some time on the internet looking for items that cost 1p, and there aren’t many!  I think I have two options at this stage:-

1. Try and find something to buy for 1p and hope that I can sell it for more.

2. Swap my shiny 1p coin for someone’s dirty (yet more valuable) coin

Either way, I need to shift the coin in the next few days to get some good momentum for the project. Wish me luck!

What happens next? >>>

