Goodbye bike, hello cash!  That’s right ladies and gentlemen, project 1p is now worth £50.  Also known as a nifty, a bullseye, half a tonne, half a long un, or a couple of ponies. Whatever you want to call it, I think you’ll find that it is a 500000% increase from the original 1p – in less than 1 month!  I should be a banker.

The day after I received the bike, I used my extensive knowledge of bicycle mechanics (I think I mentioned this in the last episode) to do a bit of routine maintenance.  Unfortunately my bicycle maintenance toolkit consists of a single can of WD40, which according to my brother is all you need when things break.  However, on this occasion it would seem he was wrong.  I called in my local bike expert Harry to come and sort it out.  He is likely to feature in this story again at some point so watch out for him.  Anyway, by the end of the day the bike was in tip top shape, and advertised.

One of the first offers was a sofa.  I explained to these wannabe project 1p participants that I barely had room in my flat for the bike, and I certainly didn’t have room for another sofa.  I was then offered a broken mini moto, which I think is a sort of motorbike for small people.  It was a tempting offer, but I wasn’t sure my can of WD40 would have fixed it so I turned it down.  I was starting to get a little impatient when Dale came along with his offer of £50.  I think Dale was keen to find an actual item to swap with the bike, but I explained that cash is fine.  I do really like swapping, but I have a feeling that this project will head in many other directions before the end.  I want to find out what they are, so we’ll all just have to see what happens!

So here we go again.  I have £50 to invest in something.  Any ideas what I should spend it on?

What happens next? >>>

