Project 1p is 6 months old.  That seems like the ideal time to have a brief recap.  It started life with just a mere one penny coin.  During the project’s infancy, the penny coin soon became 3 goldfish and a pot of fish food.  Through sheer perseverance those pesky fish evolved into a guitar, which turned into a bike, which became £50, which bought 10 sq metres of land in Bulgaria.  By now the project was learning to walk and the land was soon exchanged for a custom made metal object, which was traded for a French yurt holiday, which was swapped for a penny portrait, which became a wedding dress, which was exchanged for a wedding photographer.

At 6 months old, project 1p has been having a small midlife crisis. The primary objective in the beginning was to turn my 1p coin into something of greater value.  I think its fair to say that I have succeeded in fulfilling that objective.  Indeed, some might say that I’ve exceeded.  Now that the initial challenge has already been accomplished, the project feels like it is lacking something.  Lacking a goal to achieve, a target to reach.  A wise man once said –

“The poor man is not he who is without a cent, but he who is without a dream.”

Project 1p needs a dream.  Or at least a new dream because the old dream has already become reality.

Over the years, I have concluded that the best place to have a dream is in bed.  With that in mind, I put my pyjamas on and tucked myself in.  Having a dream is not easy.  Others who have been in similar situations before me have dreamt of holidays or houses.  The trouble is, I don’t want a holiday, or a house.  I don’t actually seem to want anything much.  I was thinking hard.  What did I want?  Then I remembered a conversation I had as a teenager with my friend, Blue (so called because he used to tell us stories about watching blue movies on satellite TV).  We talked about owning an Island, and declaring it our own country.  It was to be called Sandland and everything was to be made out of sand.  Now that might sound like an utterly absurd idea to you.  But is it?  I will concede that building everything out of sand would be impractical at best, but the concept of creating a new country doesn’t sound that unreasonable.  It’s been done before, I could do it again.  And that ladies and gentlemen is my dream.

So, it is with great pleasure that I welcome you to Project 1p Part 2.  Over the next 6 months I will be trading up to an Island so that I can declare independence and create my very own country.

You probably think I’ve gone mad!

Now who is going to take this wedding photographer off my hands?

